Press Releases

IMG_4480 2

Greetings from Tallahassee

As part of the KCCI 2021 Community Catalyst project goal to create more public art, KCCI helped facilitate the creation of the new mural in the Market District. It was designed by a local student at Maclay School under the leadership of their teacher Sarah Painter and muralist Cosby Hayes.
The 2-story mural was sponsored by Award4U, Lawson & Lawson Electric, Betsy & Cory Couch, and The Market District Association. 
Through this project the students experienced real-life work skills (project planning, client relations, media relations). As many of the students commented: It is something they will never forget.
Come check it out – it might be your new backdrop for the perfect selfie.
To learn more about KCCI’s visioning process for the Market District that ignited placemaking improvements and the revitalization of the Market District Association, click HERE.
Learn more about Sarah Painter and Cosby Hayes HERE. Follow Maclay Fine Arts on Instagram @MaclayFineArts. Follow the Market District on Instagram @marketdistricttally.

About KCCI

Established in 2007, KCCI is a local organization committed to positive placemaking and community collaboration in Tallahassee. KCCI projects have generated nearly $1 billion in economic impact for Leon County. A new group of volunteer Community Catalysts is selected to plan and implement each annual project. KCCI is made possible by partners including: Knight Foundation Fund at the Community Foundation of North Florida, Archibald Foundation, Tallahassee Memorial HealthCare, VyStar Credit Union, Taproot, FAMU School of Business and Industry, Florida State University College of Business, NAI Talcor, Structure Real Estate, Nolia & Bill Brandt, Lewis + Whitlock, Wood + Partners, Brown & Brown, BowStern Marketing, Serena and Jon Moyle, Cassidy and Company, Tharpe Construction, Flightline Group, Inc., Drs. Chaney, Couch, Callaway, Carter and Associates Family Dentistry, Charlie Johnson and Rowland Publishing.

The 2021 KCCI Community Catalyst team includes: Joey Arellano; Erika Branchcomb; Cyrus Calhoun III; Shannon Colavecchio; Nipa Eason; Talethia Edwards; Khari James; Tyler Maldonado; Marie Moyle; Ali Palmer; and Daniel Taylor.