2024 Community Catalyst Training

2024 Catalyst Class Begins

KCCI welcomed and trained the new volunteer 2024 Community Catalyst Class Jan. 31-Feb 1. At the training conference, they were inspired by 23 different thought leaders such as Tiffany Bowers, Katie Kole, Rodney Lewis, Ed Murray, Mayor John Dailey, Fern Senra-James, Elizabeth Emmanuel, Gjergj Ndoja, Mat Tharpe, and Ryan Sheplack. The Catalysts participated in design workshops and a downtown art walk featuring highlights from the Art Access/Art of the Box Catalyst team’s accomplishments. They also enjoyed meeting a few Art of the Box artists.

Topics covered in the training presentations included the importance of quality of life, economic impact, tourism impacts in Leon County, details on Tallahassee’s 200th anniversary, placemaking strategies, and best practices from other. The Catalysts also received project management tips, team meeting advice, and more.

The 2024 Community Catalysts include: Elizabeth Barron (Ausley McMullen), Jan Brown (Retired), Rachel Corry (Moore), Pam Flores (Florida Department of Environmental Protection), Jane Johnson (Fla Association of Centers for Independent Living), Verlonda Johnson (Preeminence Contracting and Construction), Jonathan Klepper (Florida Center for Reading Research), Maxim D. Nasab (Apexx Architecture), Matthew Persinger (Architects Lewis + Whitlock), Hadley Peterson (Kimley-Horn and Associates), Bianca Rhoades (Hancock Whitney Bank), Rueben Stokes (Rueben Stokes DEIB Advisory Services, a BEMSTAR Company), Alexandra Valdes (Apalachee Regional Planning Council), Reenee Williams (CareerSource Capital Region).

Artists Dan Taylor and Robin Washington shared their perspective as local artists and talked with the team about their art that is showcased via the Art of the Box program.


The team looks forward to bringing their project concept to life – of designing a bicentennial park in downtown Tallahassee. The team’s goal is within a 1-year timeframe to bring forward a design that is adopted by the City.

Thank you to our KCCI sponsors for making this year’s team possible.